Six Milk Cream (Crema de Seis Leches)

I Was Born To Be With You.

Just as spiders are beckoned by curds and whey, so my love responds to gestures from my wavy locks. Every morning he calls me to the sunrise and asks, “Wilt thou be mine? That first glow snagged on all of your tresses would keep my madness in line.” Every tea time he comes home to me and pouts that his cohorts are swine. Every tea time he assures me, “Thou shall’t not wash dishes. I readily take them in no time. The dazzling sun on all of your tresses would keep my madness in line.” Every evening he draws me a tuffet made from the wood of the pine. Every evening he instructs me, “Give me your answer sewn in fine seam. Astride feathery messes lay torn up cotton dresses, and the last glow tangled in your tresses would keep my madness in line.” Every night, when the hour is right, I slip into a longing gaze. Every night my love delights in feeding me strawberries, sugar, and cream.

We’re Bound Together By Destiny.

The two quotes in bold are from Suzette/Mikaila in the Cain Saga manga. After she is resurrected from her early tomb, her childhood sweetheart calls her Little Miss Muffet because has acquired the ability to control tarantulas and consequently poison anyone of her choosing. Ultimately, she determines that a life without her love is no life at all. No amount of blackmail could retrieve what was lost. To me, life really is that simple: love; or be lost, and lost still, beyond the grave.

Six Milk Cream (Crema de Seis Leches)

This is the cream I ‘whip’ together for milky sponge cake (bizcocho tres leches). Technically, the ‘milk’ Puerto Ricans use for tres leches are condensed milk, evaporated milk, and cream of coconut. However, I know that those are not the only things Puerto Ricans would consider substitutes for milk. My recipe includes the other three ‘milky’ products, and when I post my recipe for the cake, you’ll see that I use milk itself in the batter.

If you don’t like tres leches, you can add a large pineapple (about 4 1/2 cups cubed) and 5 ice cubes to make pineapple slushes (piña coladas).

Use Hispanic, rather than Asian, coconut milk, because Asian coconut milk is thicker. You could also do as I do and buy all-natural coconut milk, such as the brands Silk and So Delicious.

Evaporated milk 2 tbsp

Half and half 2 tbsp

Heavy cream 2 tbsp

Coconut milk 2 tbsp

Cream of Coconut 4 tbsp

Condensed milk 4 tbsp

  1. Blend them in a blender. They have very different consistencies, so blending them evens out the texture better than stirring them together.
  2. Taste and add sugar if desired. Keep refrigerated.

2 thoughts on “Six Milk Cream (Crema de Seis Leches)

Leave a Reply

